As a construction professional, you know contractor continuing education is critical not only to renew your professional license and satisfy CE requirements, but to make advancements in your career and ensure credentials are up to date.


ONLINE Required and General Subject Courses
Complete some or all of the hours you need on your schedule!

14 HOUR COURSE (includes 6 REQUIRED and 8 GENERAL courses) - $149.00 (Click to register.)

7 HOUR COURSE (includes 6 REQUIRED courses and 1 GENERAL course) - $118.00 (Click to register.)





  • Upon completion of the course, the online director will be alerted. The director will review your course log and issue a distance learning certificate of completion, if requested, to the email address provided at registration within five business days.
  • The Continuing Education provider has up to 30 days to post your Continuing Education hours.
  • To submit your hours properly (following the DBPR/CILB format) it will take approximately 2 weeks.
  • Once submitted it takes approximately 1 week for the DBPR/CILB to post your hours.




Renew your Contractors License online at following the prompts for “Renew a License” and pay your license renewal fee.

You do not need to have your CE hours posted or CE certificate to renew your license. Once your hours are posted, please see below for the paperless license protocol.

Paperless Licensing, effective 05/04/2018

The Department of Business and Professional Regulation in the State of Florida has implemented an innovative way to expedite the licensing process for construction contractors. The Department will no longer be mailing licenses upon issuance, as licensees can now print their licenses by logging into their secure online account with the Department. This will allow new licensees to enter the work force at least 7 to 10 business days early, whereas, in the past, they would have to wait for the license to arrive in the mail. In addition to new licenses, this process will allow licensees to renew online and print the license at their convenience, as well as print duplicate licenses as needed without paying a fee.


Per the requirements laid out in Florida Statute 489.115 and CILB Rule 61 G4-18.001, ALL registered and certified contractors are required to complete fourteen (14) hours of continuing education each renewal cycle.

Of the fourteen (14) hours, one (1) hour shall be required in each of the following topics:

  • Workplace safety (WPS)
  • Business practices (BP)
  • Workers’ compensation (WC)
  • Laws and rules regulating the construction industry (LR)
  • Wind mitigation methodologies (WMM)
  • Specialized or advanced module course (ADV)

The remaining hours may include any of the aforementioned subject matter or general (GEN) topics such as; business, trade, workers’ compensation, laws and rules related to the construction industry, or safety topics relevant to the construction industry.

Per the requirements laid out in CILB Rule 61 G4-18.001(9), a person is not required to complete any continuing education requirements for the year in which a certificate or a registration is initially issued. Any person who obtains a certificate or a registration more than 12 months prior to the end of a biennial period is required to complete seven hours of approved continuing education as a condition of the first renewal of the certificate or registration.

  • If your license is LESS than ONE (1) year, then you need 0 hours of CE.
  • If your license is ONE (1) year, then you need 7 hours of CE.
  • If your license is TWO (2) or more years, then you need 14 hours of CE.

Per the requirements laid out in CILB Rule 61 G4-18.001(11), a person is not required to complete any of the above continuing education requirements while his or her license is in an inactive status. However, registrants and certificateholders who change licensure status from inactive to active must show proof of completion of fourteen (14) hours of continuing education as required for active renewal for the biennium previous to the requested license activation.